When I look into your eyes, I hear dolphins clapping.”

I disappear into the person I love. If I love you, you can have it all……(lists all the things given)…I will give you all this and more, until I am so exhausted and depleted, the only way I can recover, is by becoming infatuated with someone else. ”

These are lines from a play written by the heroine Elizabeth within the screenplay of Eat Pray Love, and is one of many life revelations fed to viewers through the narrative of her journeys.

After she packs everything up in storage…..

My whole life in a 12 foot square box.”

Know how many times I hear that in a day? Most never come back for their whole life.”

I haven’t read the memoir by Elizabeth Gilbert. The film serves as unabashedly seductive canvas for women to project yearnings to escape from well, pretty much anything.

It lacks the vulnerability portrayed by Diane Lane in Under the Tuscan Sun. One always feel the unwavering certainty in Julia Robert’s persona, a common thread in many of her lead roles.

While the predictability assures viewers that the heroine will find the meaning of life and her prince in the 2 1/2 hours you never get back, this food/travel/chick flick is not a bad way to spend a rainy Sunday morning at home.

  • Food/Travel show: 4 star
  • Feature film with redeeming features : 1 star